Rustic Firewood Wreath

My good friend showed me a rustic wreath that was made from trimmed logs, and I knew that I could make my own version in a cinch.  Therefore, my mom and I decided to give it a shot!  To make the wood frame, I grabbed a piece of firewood from my garage and removed all splinters and cracks using a random orbital sander and 220 grit sandpaper.

Then, I used a miter saw to cut the log into 3/4″ sections.

After the log was sliced and diced, it was pretty neat to see how the wedges from the same piece of firewood could look so different from one another.  The wreath was definitely going to have some interesting shapes to it.

I took each piece and sanded it once more to remove any additional splinters or rough edges.

Now it was time to make the wreath!  Using a craft MDF circle from Michael’s as the base of the wreath, I attached each wedge to it.  To do so, I flipped the craft circle over and I used a brad nailer, air compressor, and 5/8″ brad finishing nails to affix the underside of each wedge to the circle.

Once done, the circle turned into the skeleton of the wreath, as pictured below.

To give this rustic wreath a feminine touch, we decided to add a bow and hydrangeas to the bottom of it.  For the life of me, I cannot make bows, so my mom whipped one up for me. Craft stores often have pre-made bows available if you don’t know how to make one yourself.

Then, we used wire cutters to remove the hydrangea blooms from the stems.

To affix the bow and flowers to the wreath, we tied them on using wire.  In hindsight, using a staple gun would probably be easier.

We incorporated a few more icy-looking branches to it to add some more character.  Now, the wreath was ready to be hung!

I could not be any happier with the way that this rustic firewood wreath turned out.  It is far different than any other wreath I’ve made over the years and it has to be my absolute favorite.  It’s currently hanging in our mudroom.
I love these branches and the color of the hydrangeas.  The wreath is both masculine and feminine and versatile year-round.

Some details:

Hope you love it as much as we do!
You may find me linking up at these fantastic parties:

Monday: Boogieboard CottageC-R-A-F-TCraft-O-ManiacDIY Home Sweet Home,  Get Outta My Head PleaseThe Girl CreativeMad in CraftsMaking the World CuterOur Delightful HomePolish the StarsSerendipity and SpiceSew Can DoSkip to My LouThrifty Decor ChickToo Much Time on My HandsTuesday: A Bowl Full of LemonsCherished BlissCoastal CharmConfessions of a Stay at Home MommyDukes and DutchessesFunky Polka Dot GiraffeI’m Topsy TurvyMommy By Day Crafter by NightNap Time CreationsNot Just a HousewifeSugar Bee CraftsTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogWednesday: Adorned from Above, Free Pretty Things for YouGinger Snap CraftsHome Happy HomeIt’s Just Called SpicyJAQS StudioLet Birds FlyLife with the Crust Cut OffThe NY Melrose FamilyRae Gun RamblingsThe Sasse LifeSew Much AdoSew WoodsySomeday CraftsSouthern LovelyThe Style SistersThursday: A Creative PrincessA Glimpse InsideCrafty, Scrappy, HappyHouse of HepworthsJust Winging ItMade in a DayThe Shabby Creek CottageSomewhat SimpleFriday: 2805The Answer is ChocolateBacon Time with the Hungry HypoCreation CornerFingerprints on the FridgeThe Grant LifeHappy-Go-LuckyIf It’s Not BaroqueJust Us FourMom 4 RealMy Simple Home LifeNot Your Ordinary RecipesOne Artsy MamaThe Rooster and the HenSimply DesigningTatertots and JelloWhipperberryYoung and CraftySaturday: Be Different… Act NormalCandace CreationsFunky Junk InteriorsIt’s OverflowingIt’s So Very CheriNutmeg PlaceSunday: The Crafty CowgirlEmbellishing Life with Homemade GoodnessFlamingo ToesG*RatedNifty Thrifty Things

1 thought on “Rustic Firewood Wreath”

Leave a Reply

