The Final Dining Room Reveal

I’ve been working on our dining room for two and a half years now, and it is finally finished!  Remember what it looked like when we first bought the house?

Me neither.  I painted those peach walls with Olympic’s “Apple-a-Day” red the day after we moved in!  More details may be found in my November 2011 reveal.
To save some money, I spray painted the electric outlet covers with Rustoleum’s “Oil Rubbed Bronze.”
I’m not a big fan of chandeliers, we decided to donate ours to Goodwill.  We bought a red stained glass light fixture from Home Depot as its replacement, and I helped Evan install it.  I think it helps make the dining room look more modern and it mirrors our rectangular dining room table well.
During this time, I also painted the ceiling with Olympic’s “Volcanic Ash.” (No ceiling should ever be white again!) As I had for all of the other ceilings throughout our house, I mixed in a packet of Valspar’s silver paint crystals with the gallon of paint.  At night, the reflection of nearby light fixtures shines on these crystals and makes the ceiling look like a starry evening.
Then, I installed board and batten throughout the dining room to brighten things up. A full tutorial on how I completed this easy project may be found in my February 2013 post.
As the final touch, Evan and I installed crown molding throughout the dining room. I painted it white with Olympic’s “Crumb Cookie” so that the molding would pop against the dark gray ceiling and bright red walls.  A tip I learned while shopping for crown molding:  Purchase the contractor packs.  They will reduce your bill by half.
Remember how the dining room looked before?
Here it is now!

A few details:
DIY Wine Cork Wreath – tutorial here!
This is the dining room of my dreams.  I adore its openness, simplicity, color, and modern feel. I’m sure I will be tweaking it here and there, but I can officially say that it is done.  Hope you love it as much as I do!
You may find me linking up at these fantastic parties:

Monday: Boogieboard CottageC-R-A-F-TCraft-O-ManiacDIY Home Sweet Home,  Get Outta My Head PleaseThe Girl CreativeMad in CraftsMaking the World CuterOur Delightful HomePolish the StarsSerendipity and SpiceSew Can DoSkip to My LouThrifty Decor ChickToo Much Time on My HandsTuesday: A Bowl Full of LemonsCherished BlissCoastal CharmConfessions of a Stay at Home MommyDukes and DutchessesFunky Polka Dot GiraffeI’m Topsy TurvyMommy By Day Crafter by NightNap Time CreationsNot Just a HousewifeSugar Bee CraftsTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogWednesday: Adorned from Above, Free Pretty Things for YouGinger Snap CraftsHome Happy HomeIt’s Just Called SpicyJAQS StudioLet Birds FlyLife with the Crust Cut OffThe NY Melrose FamilyRae Gun RamblingsThe Sasse LifeSew Much AdoSew WoodsySomeday CraftsSouthern LovelyThe Style SistersThursday: A Creative PrincessA Glimpse InsideCrafty, Scrappy, HappyHouse of HepworthsJust Winging ItMade in a DayThe Shabby Creek CottageSomewhat SimpleFriday: 2805The Answer is ChocolateBacon Time with the Hungry HypoCreation CornerFingerprints on the FridgeThe Grant LifeHappy-Go-LuckyIf It’s Not BaroqueJust Us FourMom 4 RealMy Simple Home LifeNot Your Ordinary RecipesOne Artsy MamaThe Rooster and the HenSimply DesigningTatertots and JelloWhipperberryYoung and CraftySaturday: Be Different… Act NormalCandace CreationsFunky Junk InteriorsIt’s OverflowingIt’s So Very CheriNutmeg PlaceSunday: The Crafty CowgirlEmbellishing Life with Homemade GoodnessFlamingo ToesG*RatedNifty Thrifty Things

Leave a Reply

