The Foyer Reveal

I’ve always adored our foyer.  It’s fairly large and has a sizable coat closet.  Its beige and lackluster walls also gave me the opportunity to truly transform the space into an inviting room to our home.

To add some warmth, I first painted the walls yellow with Olympic’s “Japanese Koi” in a satin finish.  I usually avoid yellow, but I found this one to be bright yet cozy.  It also compliments the other wild colors in our Crayola house well.

I also spray painted the electrical outlet covers with Rustoleum’s “Oil Rubbed Bronze” to give them a little pizzazz.
The front door was originally white, but accumulated a lot of grunge and dirt over time.  I gave it a makeover by painting it with Rustoleum’s door paint in “Cranberry.” This paint is extremely durable, fade-resistant, prevents rust, and works wonders.  It has survived nearly two year’s worth of scratches from my Corgis’ nails, and still looks beautiful.
As I mentioned in a December 2011 post, Evan also replaced the brass front door and closet door knobs with oil rubbed bronze ones from Lowe’s.
I then installed board and batten throughout the room to give it some built-in character.  I painted the molding and wall behind it with Olympic’s “Crumb Cookie” in a satin finish.  Step-by-step instructions on how to do this may be found in my May 2012 Board and Batten Tutorial
Since every room in our house was adorned with one of these lovely brass light fixtures, Evan also replaced the foyer’s fixture with track lighting from Lowe’s.
After I finished my master bedroom, my goal in life was to never have a white ceiling again.  Therefore, I painted the foyer’s ceiling with Olympic’s “Amaretto” in a flat finish. To add a little fun, I mixed in a packet of Valspar’s gold crystals to the gallon of paint.  That way, the track lighting now makes the ceiling shimmer!
Finally, to top everything off, Evan and I used a miter saw, air compressor, brad nailer, and painter’s caulk to install crown molding in the foyer.  I painted it the same white as the board and batten so that it would pop against the brown ceiling and yellow walls.
Do you remember what our foyer looked like when we first moved in?

Well, here it is now!

This frame was unhinged on one side, so it was massively discounted at Bed Bath and Beyond; I fixed it up with a staple gun.  Good as new!

We have similar track lighting fixtures all over our house now.  They are placed on dimmers for both mood lighting and to save on electricity. 

This is the summer wreath that I made this year, using an old grapevine wreath, a hot glue gun, and flowers that were on clearance at Michael’s.

Our foyer makes me smile now.  These changes also make it feel more like an actual room than a simple entryway.  I adore it.
Hope you like it as much as we do!
You may find me linking up at these fantastic parties:

Monday: Boogieboard CottageC-R-A-F-TCraft-O-ManiacDIY Home Sweet Home,  Get Outta My Head PleaseThe Girl CreativeMad in CraftsMaking the World CuterOur Delightful HomePolish the StarsSerendipity and SpiceSew Can DoSkip to My LouThrifty Decor ChickToo Much Time on My HandsTuesday: A Bowl Full of LemonsCherished BlissCoastal CharmConfessions of a Stay at Home MommyDukes and DutchessesFunky Polka Dot GiraffeI’m Topsy TurvyMommy By Day Crafter by NightNap Time CreationsNot Just a HousewifeSugar Bee CraftsTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogWednesday: Adorned from Above, Free Pretty Things for YouGinger Snap CraftsHome Happy HomeIt’s Just Called SpicyJAQS StudioLet Birds FlyLife with the Crust Cut OffThe NY Melrose FamilyRae Gun RamblingsThe Sasse LifeSew Much AdoSew WoodsySomeday CraftsSouthern LovelyThe Style SistersThursday: A Creative PrincessA Glimpse InsideCrafty, Scrappy, HappyHouse of HepworthsJust Winging ItMade in a DayThe Shabby Creek CottageSomewhat SimpleFriday: 2805The Answer is ChocolateBacon Time with the Hungry HypoCreation CornerFingerprints on the FridgeThe Grant LifeHappy-Go-LuckyIf It’s Not BaroqueJust Us FourMom 4 RealMy Simple Home LifeNot Your Ordinary RecipesOne Artsy MamaThe Rooster and the HenSimply DesigningTatertots and JelloWhipperberryYoung and CraftySaturday: Be Different… Act NormalCandace CreationsFunky Junk InteriorsIt’s OverflowingIt’s So Very CheriNutmeg PlaceSunday: The Crafty CowgirlEmbellishing Life with Homemade GoodnessFlamingo ToesG*RatedNifty Thrifty Things

5 thoughts on “The Foyer Reveal”

Leave a Reply

