Baseball Table Lamp

I’m in the process of turning our bonus room into a man cave for Evan.  Last week, I wrote about how I created a floor lamp out of one of my old hockey sticks.  I needed a few additional lamps for the room, so I sifted through our sports equipment and thought I could do something similar with some used baseballs.  So why not?

I bought a $3.00 table lamp base and $2.00 shade from Walmart.  I made sure to buy a lamp that had a skinny enough base to fit within a baseball.  Then, I took apart the lamp’s socket.

When I tried removing the socket, I ended up accidentally breaking it.  Whoops!  It ended up not being a big deal — later on that week, I simply bought a replacement socket from Lowe’s.  With the original socket removed, I was left with the table lamp base and its bare cord.

Then it was time to begin drilling holes into the baseballs.  I used a power drill and a 5/8″ drill bit.  When choosing this drill bit, I made sure that it was a little wider than the table lamp base.

I placed the drill bit onto the middle of the baseball, and then drilled a hole directly through it.

This created a clean cut through the baseball.

Once done, I slid the baseball over the bare power cord and onto the table lamp base.
I needed two more baseballs to complete the lamp.  Each time, however, I made sure to drill a hole into a different area of the baseball.  That way, they’d sit on different angles.

One more baseball to go!

(If you’re like me and ever wondered what’s on the inside of baseballs, here you go!  Cork.  Lots of cork.)

Once the three baseballs were on the table base, I took apart the replacement socket and assembled it directly on top of the baseballs.  

To make an effective lamp, I attached the two ends of the bare cord to the socket’s terminal screws.

With the socket assembled, all that was left to add was the light bulb and shade!

I decided to fancy up the white shade before I added it to the lamp.  To do so, I mimicked a baseball seam by free-stitching “seams” around the base of the shade.

And there you go!  An easy, inexpensive baseball lamp.

This lamp is perfect for Evan’s man cave.  It would be adorable for a boy’s sports-themed bedroom, too!

What do you think?

You may find me linking up at these fantastic parties:

Monday: Boogieboard CottageBurlap and DenimC-R-A-F-TCraft-O-ManiacDIY Home Sweet Home,  Everything Under the MoonGet Outta My Head PleaseThe Girl CreativeMad in CraftsMaking the World CuterOur Delightful HomePolish the StarsSerendipity and SpiceSew Can DoSkip to My LouThrifty Decor ChickToo Much Time on My HandsTuesday: A Bowl Full of LemonsCherished BlissCoastal CharmConfessions of a Stay at Home MommyFunky Polka Dot Giraffe,  I Gotta Try ThatI’m Topsy TurvyJillify ItThe Kurtz CornerMommy By Day Crafter by NightNap Time CreationsNatural NestersNot Just a HousewifeSugar Bee Crafts,  Sweet Little GalsTales of a Trophy WifeTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogWednesday: Adorned from Above, Free Pretty Things for YouGinger Snap CraftsHome Happy HomeIt’s Just Called SpicyJAQS StudioLet Birds FlyThe NY Melrose FamilyRae Gun RamblingsThe Sasse LifeSew Much AdoSew WoodsySomeday CraftsSouthern LovelyThursday: A Creative PrincessA Glimpse InsideCrafty, Scrappy, HappyHouse of HepworthsJust Winging ItMade in a DayThe Shabby Creek CottageSomewhat SimpleThrifty DecoratingYesterday on TuesdayFriday: 2805The Answer is ChocolateBacon Time with the Hungry HypoCreation CornerFingerprints on the FridgeThe Grant LifeHappy-Go-LuckyJust Us FourMom 4 RealMy Simple Home LifeNot So Functional HousewifeNot Your Ordinary RecipesOne Artsy MamaPerfectly ImperfectThe Rooster and the HenSimply DesigningTatertots and JelloWhipperberryYoung and CraftySaturday: Be Different… Act NormalCandace CreationsFunky Junk InteriorsIt’s OverflowingIt’s So Very CheriNutmeg PlaceSunday: The Crafty CowgirlEmbellishing Life with Homemade GoodnessFlamingo ToesG*RatedNifty Thrifty Things

5 thoughts on “Baseball Table Lamp”

  1. my son is in his second year of tball and I think this would be great for his room. Am thinkong of possibly gluing pictures of him playing on the shade. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

