DIY Framed Window

Our mudroom has two small, unframed windows.  I affectionally refer to them as hole-in-the-walls, simply because they never quite looked finished.  Last week, I decided to give one of them a makeover by framing it — just to see what it would look like.  I had a bunch of scrap wood and leftover molding from my framed bathroom mirror projects, so why not?

Window: Before 
Window: Before

I began by jotting down the measurements of each side of the window.

Then I turned to trusty miter saw.  I marked the measurements on a piece of molding and set the miter saw index to cut at a 45 degree angle.  My more detailed tutorial on how to operate a miter saw can be found here!
I placed the molding onto the miter saw, lined it up with my measurements, clamped it down, and then let the saw work its magic.

 Once the first cut was done, I measured the interior length of the piece of molding to make the second mark, then cut again.

Afterward, I raced back into the mudroom to make sure that my measurements were correct.  The 45 degree ends, shown below, will piece together like a box once done.

I had a lot of scrap molding sitting around our garage.  Instead of going to Lowe’s to buy more molding, I decided to make do with what I already had.  It worked out perfectly, but just involved a little more math for my English-major brain.  🙂

After I cut each piece to the correct length, I attached the molding to the wall using a brad nailer and 1 1/4 inch brad nails.
It’s coming together nicely!  You can see my improvised molding on the right hand side and bottom of the window.  Since I planned to paint the molding, I didn’t worry too much about the color differences.

The rest of the windows in our house have a nice, deep window sill.  I wanted to mimic the others, so I grabbed a piece of scrap wood and measured the interior width of the window.  
How do you like our lovely, work-in-progress patio project outside?
After I cut the scrap wood to the right length, I buffed it really well using our random orbital sander and a combination of 60-grit and 220-grit sand paper.  Once the surface areas and the corners were smooth, I placed it into the window and secured it using a series of brad nails.
Boom.  Window sill.  

I puttied over all of the nails and seams using painter’s caulk. Later, I painted the molding and window sill with two coats of primer and two coats of Olympic’s “Glazed Pears.”
And there you go!  A framed window.

This was an incredibly simple project that took one hour to construct and about three hours to putty, prime, and paint.  Well worth it.  The window finally looks complete… well, minus a small curtain that I have yet to make!
Our outdoor cat, Mac, sleeps and lounges in the mudroom.  He loves this new window sill!  I’ve noticed a steady accumulation of cat hair on it.
We still have a hole-in-the-wall window on the opposite side of the mudroom.  I want to frame it, as well, but there is a wall cabinet adjacent to it and I’m not sure how to get around that.  I’m sure I’ll figure something out eventually!
Not too bad for a easy weeknight project!  Can’t wait to finish the rest of the mudroom for the big reveal!
You may find me linking up at these fantastic parties:

Monday: Boogieboard CottageBurlap and DenimC-R-A-F-TCraft-O-ManiacDIY Home Sweet Home,  Everything Under the MoonGet Outta My Head PleaseThe Girl CreativeThe Graphics FairyMad in CraftsMaking the World CuterOur Delightful HomePolish the StarsSerendipity and SpiceSew Can DoSew Happy GeekSkip to My LouThrifty Decor ChickToo Much Time on My HandsTuesday: A Bowl Full of LemonsCherished BlissCoastal CharmConfessions of a Stay at Home MommyFunky Polka Dot Giraffe,  I’m Topsy TurvyJillify ItThe Kurtz CornerMommy By Day Crafter by NightNap Time CreationsNatural NestersNot Just a HousewifeSugar Bee Crafts,  Sweet Little GalsTales of a Trophy WifeTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogWednesday: Free Pretty Things for YouGinger Snap CraftsHome Happy HomeJAQS StudioLet Birds FlyThe NY Melrose FamilyRae Gun RamblingsThe Sasse LifeSew Much AdoSew WoodsySomeday CraftsSouthern LovelyThursday: A Creative PrincessA Glimpse InsideCrafty, Scrappy, HappyHouse of HepworthsJust Winging ItMade in a DayThe Shabby Creek CottageSomewhat SimpleThrifty DecoratingYesterday on TuesdayFriday: 2805The Answer is ChocolateBacon Time with the Hungry HypoCreation CornerFingerprints on the FridgeThe Grant LifeHappy-Go-LuckyMom 4 RealMy Simple Home LifeNot So Functional HousewifeNot Your Ordinary RecipesOne Artsy MamaPerfectly ImperfectThe Rooster and the HenSimply DesigningTatertots and JelloWhipperberryYoung and CraftySaturday: Be Different… Act NormalCandace CreationsFunky Junk InteriorsIt’s OverflowingIt’s So Very CheriNutmeg PlaceSunday: The Crafty CowgirlEmbellishing Life with Homemade GoodnessFlamingo ToesG*RatedNifty Thrifty Things

16 thoughts on “DIY Framed Window”

  1. Kirsten,

    What a cute blog you have! I love the title! I stopped over from the Kurtz Corner linky party and was drawn into some of your other posts.

    I have a home that we are renovating too. Except, instead of pawprints I have toddler prints, and crumbs. Stop by and let me know what you think.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Laura

    Like

  2. This is so cool! I've grown up with unframed windows, but my FIL just recently informed me that they really need to be framed. Lol, who knew??:)

    Like

  3. Cool! That window frame is clean and neat. You exerted your effort on making that one, well, it's worth it though. The windows along with frame made it looked more attractive. Good job!

    Like

  4. Thank you so much for the great tutorial. I am finding now that I am moving into my first home I am trying to learn all that I can about simple things to improve a space and this is really really helpful!!! I can hardly wait to frame some windows!!!! 🙂 thank you for the inspiration and for linking up!
    Jaime from crafty scrappy happy

    Like

  5. That’s very handy of you, Kirsten! Framing a window requires a lot of precision. You know what I did instead to avoid all those tasks you did? I framed my window with paint. Yeah, it’s a cool trick, but seeing how your window looks now, I think I’ll be redoing it. And this time, it’s for real! After all, if you can, maybe I can too! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

