Playing in the Sun

We had an absolutely gorgeous weekend in the 70s.  I woke up Saturday morning with the plan to finish the mudroom, but couldn’t resist the urge to spend the day outdoors instead!  I spent all day Saturday raking the endless amount of leaves and cleaning up the yard.

I had two cuties distracting helping me.  Such troopers.
Crash was a dear and took care of all of the loose branches for me.
On Sunday, I decided to do a little planting and landscaping.  I planted some pansies and daffodils.  The kids eagerly dug all of the holes for me.

And they ate a great deal of mulch, too.  
The previous homeowners planted an iris garden in the backyard next to the deck. Evan and I, however, have plans to build a patio in its place, so we decided to transplant the irises to the front yard.
I didn’t realize how many irises there were until we started digging them up!  We transplanted a total of four wheelbarrows’s worth of irises.  There had to have been at least 500 bulbs.  I’m sure they’ll look gorgeous in the spring.
By Sunday night, we were exhausted.  It was a lot of work!  But it was a fun, productive, and rewarding weekend.
It’s supposed to be beautiful again this weekend, so I’m looking forward to tackling some more outdoor projects!

4 thoughts on “Playing in the Sun”

Leave a Reply

