Dinner of the Week: Chicken Pot Pie

This week, I’m going to share with you one of my favorite, easy, “go to” recipes.  Chicken pot pie is my ultimate comfort food, and this is a dish that I often make on cold nights, rainy nights, or sit-at-home-and-watch-a-movie nights.  I honestly can’t remember where I first stumbled upon this recipe, but I’ve tweaked it so much over the years that I’m not even sure how true it is the the original.

This recipe is very versatile, too; you can add whatever vegetables you want, eliminate the cheese if you’re health-conscious, or add more or less of any of the ingredients.  I don’t think you could ever go wrong.  I’ve tried this recipe vegetarian before, and it tastes just as great as it does with chicken.  I’ve also tried it with turkey to help get rid of Thanksgiving leftovers.

You can also make single serving pot pies by using squares of puff pastries instead of unbaked pie crusts, and placing the pot pie into small ramekins.  Freeze the leftover ramekins and put them individually into the oven whenever you feel like it.

Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients: 
– 1 package chicken (tenderloins or breasts)
– 1 can cream of mushroom soup
– 1 can cream of chicken soup
– 2 stalks celery
– 2 carrots
– 1 cup frozen peas
– 1 cup frozen corn
– Shredded cheddar cheese
– Shredded mozzarella cheese
– Dried oregano, basil, rosemary (or whatever you have on hand)
– Your favorite chicken seasoning
– 1 package of two unbaked pie crusts
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Take the pie crusts out of the refrigerator and place on a countertop.  
Fill a medium to large saucepan up halfway with cool water, and place it over medium heat.  Wash and clean the chicken, then pat dry.  Douse the chicken with your favorite chicken seasoning.

Add the chicken to the pot, leave it, fuhgeddaboudit, and turn to the other prep work.

  

Meanwhile, chop up the celery, carrots, and whatever other veggies you have available.  Pour the frozen peas and corn into a microwaveable bowl, fill the bowl up approximately 1/3 of the way with water, and then place it in the microwave for five minutes.

In a large mixing bowl, add a handful of each kind of cheese, along with the cans of cream of mushroom and cream of chicken soup.  Mix well.  Add all of the veggies and liberally sprinkle oregano, basil, rosemary, or whatever other spices you have on hand into the bowl.  I usually add a little heat by including red pepper flakes.  Mix again.

Once the chicken is cooked (approximately 10-15 minutes, depending on the thickness of the chicken), drain and place on a cutting board.  Chop up the chicken into cubes.  Add the chicken to the bowl of veggies and stir well.

Take a large, deep casserole dish and either butter the sides and bottom of the dish or lightly coat it with cooking spray.  Unroll one of the pie crusts and lay it on the bottom of the dish.  As shown below, it doesn’t have to look pretty.

Add the chicken / veggie mixture to the casserole dish.

Unroll the second pie crust and place it on top of the mixture, folding the extra pieces underneath the crust.  Slit the top crust three times to allow the pot pie to breathe.  Top with thin slices of butter.

Place the casserole dish into the oven and bake on 350 degrees for 50 minutes.  
Once done, the pot pie will be hot and bubbly.  The crust is always perfectly flaky and the contents are piping hot.  I recommend serving it in a bowl, as it’s pretty soupy at first.  Enjoy!

My husband and my brother absolutely love this dish.  They always get the biggest smile on their faces whenever I say that I’m going to make it.  It also tastes great, if not better, for leftovers.  I hope you like it, too!

You may find me linking up at these fantastic parties:

Monday: Boogieboard CottageC-R-A-F-TCraft-O-ManiacDittle DattleDIY Home Sweet Home,  Everything Under the MoonGet Outta My Head PleaseThe Girl CreativeThe Graphics FairyMad in CraftsMaking the World CuterOur Delightful HomePolish the StarsRunning with GlitterSew Can DoSew Happy GeekSkip to My LouToo Much Time on My HandsTuesday: All Thingz RelatedA Bowl Full of LemonsCherished BlissCoastal CharmConfessions of a Stay at Home MommyFunky Polka Dot Giraffe,  I’m Topsy TurvyThe Kurtz CornerMommy By Day Crafter by NightNap Time CreationsNatural NestersNot Just a HousewifeSugar Bee Crafts,  Sweet Little GalsTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogWednesday: Free Pretty Things for YouGinger Snap CraftsJAQS StudioLet Birds FlyRae Gun RamblingsThe Sasse LifeSew Much AdoSew WoodsySomeday CraftsSouthern LovelyThursday: A Creative PrincessA Glimpse InsideCrafty, Scrappy, HappyHouse of HepworthsJust Winging ItMade in a DayThe Shabby Creek CottageSomewhat SimpleThrifty DecoratingYesterday on TuesdayFriday: 2805The Answer is ChocolateBacon Time with the Hungry HypoCreation CornerFinding FabulousFingerprints on the FridgeHappy-Go-LuckyMom 4 RealMy Simple Home LifeOne Artsy MamaPerfectly ImperfectSimply DesigningTatertots and JelloWhipperberryYoung and CraftySaturday: Be Different… Act NormalCandace CreationsFunky Junk InteriorsIt’s So Very CheriNutmeg PlaceSunday: Embellishing Life with Homemade GoodnessFlamingo ToesNifty Thrifty Things

15 thoughts on “Dinner of the Week: Chicken Pot Pie”

  1. Just looking at this makes me hungry! I'm visiting from Decorating with Cents and I found you on the blog hop. I'm now a linky follower…would like if you could follow back. Thanks

    Like

  2. Oh that looks like dinner. I have been craving a pot pie since seeing the new KFC commercial, yours looks even better then theirs. I would love for you to share at my weekly anything goes Friday-Monday linky.

    Like

  3. Wow – this chicken pot pie looks awesome. I am totally going to have to make this. I also love your blog name and design. Terrific. Stopping in from TheStuffofSuccess and I am also your newest linky follower. Enjoy your week. Athena

    Like

Leave a Reply

