The Master Bedroom Reveal

I have an older brother, so I’ve always been relegated to the tiny bedroom.  This never bothered me because I didn’t expect anything more than that.  It forced me to be organizationally creative.  That, or it was an excuse to let all of my stuffed animals take over the rest of the house.
I’m so sorry, Mom and Dad.
As a result, I felt — and still do feel — absolutely pampered having a large master bedroom.  I wasn’t sure what I’d do with all the space!  The first night in our home, I leaped into the empty bedroom and performed a giddy and uncoordinated dance of jumping jacks, triple salchows, and cartwheels just because I could.  It was incredible knowing that I could prance around all I wanted without fearing about banging my knee or a Corgi into a dresser.
The Bedroom: Before Move In
The Bedroom: Before Move In

We took care of the problem of having a big room by buying some equally large grown up furniture.  Say what?  I felt ancient when we walked into Grand Home Furnishings with the intention to buy a king-sized bed (yeah, spoiled), mattress, two dressers, and maybe a nightstand.  Our college days of dumpster diving and finagling a discarded sheet of plywood and some old bookcases into a desk were officially over.  Bittersweet.  We ended up buying this bedroom set from Grand because we liked the color, its simplicity, and its price:

Afterward, we bought this Wamsutta 500 Damask duvet cover in Charcoal from Bed Bath and Beyond to go with it.  I thought the silver would go well with the nickel dresser handles, and didn’t want to force Evan to live with a flowery bedspread.  
I painted our old apartment’s bedroom with Olympic’s “Teal Zeal,” and adored it.  It was beautiful, bold, and was dark enough to make the room seem like a cave at night.  So, I painted our new bedroom the same color.  The previous homeowner had painted the walls and ceiling a light silver, so I kept the ceiling the same color, thinking that it’d be a great accent.

I also spray painted all of the electric outlet covers with Rustoleum’s “Oil Rubbed Bronze.”

Meanwhile, every bedroom and hallway in our house was blessed with one of these lovely brass flush-mount light fixtures:

Yeah.  It had to go.  We’ve always wanted a ceiling fan, so we bought a 44″ Hunter Ridgefield New Bronze 5-minute Install Fan.  Five minutes, pshhhhh… it took Evan, my mom, and I more than an hour to install it.  Completely worth it.  Love the fan now.

And then… months passed.  I loved our bedroom, but there was still something missing.  It never quite felt finished.

I later thought, “why not install crown molding?” So we did.  Thanks to Evan and our good friend, Chandler, we now have crown molding (the tutorial and shenanigans that ensued will be written in another post).  But even after I puttied all of the nail holes, sealed the corners, and prettified the molding with three coats of white paint, something still seemed off.

That’s when I realized that the molding blended into the ceiling.  They weren’t noticeable at all. I figured that if we had spent the money and effort into installing beautiful crown molding, I was going to make sure that those darn things were going to pop.

So off I went to Lowe’s.  I bought a gallon of Olympic’s “Volcanic Ash” (I debated between that and “Dover Gray,” and the cooler name won), as well as a pack of Valspar’s silver paint crystals that I spotted in the paint aisle.

I had used these crystals before in my brother’s first apartment, and loved them.  One of my decorating resolutions this year, too, was to find ways to add drama and character to ceilings, and I believed that these crystals would make it epic.

Therefore, I added the entire packet into the gallon of paint and mixed it thoroughly.

Which then resulted in a ceiling that looks like you’re gazing into a night full of stars.

Wish I could’ve captured it better in a picture.  This’s as best as I got!

As well as a master bedroom that looks something like this.

This bedroom has replaced the kitchen as my favorite room of the house.  It’s my cozy little getaway.  It has also taught me to never fear bold and dark colors, to never leave ceilings out of the picture, and to always experiment with new concepts or materials.

I hope you like it, too!

You may find me linking up at these fantastic parties:

Monday: Boogieboard CottageBurlap and DenimC-R-A-F-TCraft-O-ManiacDIY Home Sweet Home,  Everything Under the MoonGet Outta My Head PleaseThe Girl CreativeThe Graphics FairyMad in CraftsMaking the World CuterOur Delightful HomePolish the StarsSew Can DoSew Happy GeekSkip to My LouThrifty Decor ChickToo Much Time on My HandsTuesday: A Bowl Full of LemonsCherished BlissCoastal CharmConfessions of a Stay at Home MommyFunky Polka Dot Giraffe,  I’m Topsy TurvyThe Kurtz CornerMommy By Day Crafter by NightNap Time CreationsNatural NestersNot Just a HousewifeSugar Bee Crafts,  Sweet Little GalsTip JunkieToday’s Creative BlogWednesday: Free Pretty Things for YouGinger Snap CraftsJAQS StudioLet Birds FlyRae Gun RamblingsThe Sasse LifeSew Much AdoSew WoodsySomeday CraftsSouthern LovelyThursday: A Creative PrincessA Glimpse InsideCrafty, Scrappy, HappyHouse of HepworthsJust Winging ItMade in a DayThe Shabby Creek CottageSomewhat SimpleThrifty DecoratingYesterday on TuesdayFriday: 2805The Answer is ChocolateBacon Time with the Hungry HypoCreation CornerFinding FabulousFingerprints on the FridgeHappy-Go-LuckyMom 4 RealMy Simple Home LifeOne Artsy MamaPerfectly ImperfectThe Rooster and the HenSimply DesigningTatertots and JelloWhipperberryYoung and CraftySaturday: Be Different… Act NormalCandace CreationsFunky Junk InteriorsIt’s So Very CheriNutmeg PlaceSunday: Embellishing Life with Homemade GoodnessFlamingo ToesG*RatedNifty Thrifty Things

60 thoughts on “The Master Bedroom Reveal”

Leave a Reply

